in the City of Paris
|Monroe County Courthouse
- Constructed in 1912, it was the last domed courthouse built in
Missouri. It was constructed of limestone, marble and granite at a
cost of $100,00. The Great Seal of Missouri is featured in mosaic
tile on the floor of the rotunda.
Murals - In the rotunda are four murals painted by Mrs.
Doris Hill of Paris, each depicting a 50 year period.
Veterans Memorial - dedicated in 1991.
Historical Society Museum - Relics of early days.
Paintings are by Gordon Snidow, notable Cowboy artis , born in
Paris. Museum is located in the first floor of the courthouse.
Male Academy - East Monroe Street. Built in 1850. There
are 13 rooms and space for 30 boarders.
Judge D.H. Moss Home - 403 W. Locust. Built in 1884 on the
Queen Anne Style, it was one of handsomest and most complete
residences in Northeast Missouri. The home contains 11 large rooms.
Brace Home - Located on Rock Road. Built in 1850, there
are two large front rooms separated by hall. Each room has a
fireplace. There is a large curved oak stairway to the four second
Union Covered Bridge - The only "Burr-arch"
covered bridge left in Missouri is located near Paris. Named for the
Union Church which once stood nearby. This 125 foot-long, 17 1/2
foot-wide bridge was built in 1871 by Joseph C. Elliott for $5,000.
Broughton House - 313 E. Madison. Built in 1831. The
original church building of the Baptist Congregation.
Robert M. Burgess House - 316 W. Monroe. Built in 1860, a
French mansard style containing eight rooms of solid brick
construction, it has huge hand cut stones for a foundation. Exterior
plans are said to have been used in part for Governor's Mansion in
Clay Mallory Home - 328 W. Marion. Probably the oldest
building in Paris. The abstract shows that in 1831 J.C. Fox bought
the land and built the house.
Thomas Conyer's House - Built in 1845, the original house
has rafters of saplings, with one side only hewed flat to hold roof
sheathing, the rest of the saplings still carrying the original
bark. Three of the original soft pine, wide board floors are in use.
Interior walls are of solid brick, each with its own foundation. The
north part, added in 1905, has eight heavy curved glass windows on
the northwest corner. The home is located at 122 Payne St. and was
once by Mr. & Mrs. R.I. Colborn.
W.B Priest Family Home - West of Paris on Hwy 24. It was
built prior to the Civil War. Of brick construction. its outer walls
are solid, as well as the inner division walls.
Allen Home - Built in 1869, the ground floor contains five
large rooms, the baseboards are hand grained, with a walnut curved
stairway, spindles and newell post, with four bedrooms upstairs. The
front portico floor and steps were made of hand hewn rocks, as well
as the foundation and the bottom window casings. Located at the
south edge of Paris on Hwy 15.
Caretaker's Building - Walnut Grove Cemetery. The original
building's design is Little Dixie Victorian architecture constructed
around 1870. The round turret originally enclosed a water tower for
storage of water. A directory has been placed at the entrance of the
MarkTwain State Park/Shrine - Located a Florida, the
quarter of a century old museum is a tribute to Samuel Clemens.
Clemens Family Mural - Post Office, West Monroe. It has
hung in the lobby since 1940 and depicts the arrival at Florida of
the Clemens family before "Mark Twain" was born. Fred G.
Three-Section Tombstone - Founder's Cemetery, north edge
of Paris. Possibly only one in the world to list three wives of one
Rockwell Visit - A reproduction of the Norman Rockwell
painting "The Country Editor" can be seen in the office of
the Monroe County APPEAL at Paris. Rockwell came to Paris and used
the Appeal's editor, the late Jack Blanton, and other employees as
First Baptist church-North Main, Built in 1917. It is red
brick with a Greek porch.
First Christian Church - Caldwell & Washington. Built
in 1910, the gray brick structure is English Gothic type. The bell
that hangs in the church hung in the steeple of the church in 1848.
Presbyterian Church-West Caldwell St., built in 1920 of
red brick and features a Greek porch.
Paris Public Library - 101 N. Main St. Tapestry
brick-Greek Style built in 1914, given in memory of the Dulaney
family. the inside has a marble entrance, surrounded by beautiful
Bicentennial Tree - 710 Cleveland. the Oak Tree is over
300 years olds.
California Redwood Tree - 406 W. Monroe. It was brought by
covered wagon from California in 1832.
Source: Paris Chamber of Commerce
of Places in Monroe County on the
National Historical Register
|Crigler Mound Group
Archeological Site Address Restricted Florida 05/21/1969 69000115
Petroglyphs Address Restricted Holliday 01/11/1974 74001083
Monroe Mark Twain State
Park Picnic Shelter at Buzzard's Roost Off MO 107 Santa Fe
03/04/1985 ECW Architecture in Missouri State Parks 1933-1942 TR
Monroe Paris Male Academy
411 E. Monroe St. Paris 07/19/1990 90001103
Monroe Twain, Mark,
Birthplace Cabin Mark Twain State Park, 2.5 mi. S of Florida on MO
Monroe Union Covered
Bridge 6 mi. W of Paris on Elk Fork of the Salt River Paris
Monroe Violette, Merritt,
House Off MO 107 Florida 09/08/1983 83001031
Monroe Washington School
529 S. Locust St. Monroe City 12/29/1994 94001502